In many countries, TV channels broadcast males’ sport games more frequently than games involving female athletes. Why is this the case? Should TV channels give equal time and exposure to women’s sports?

A particular issue about sports programs has raised quite a concern at home and abroad. It has been a norm that males' sports games are broadcast with a higher frequency than those of females. In my opinion, it is necessary to discuss possible reasons cause first then leading to a conclusion whether should TV channels provide the same amount of time to women's sports. The issue of broadcasting a limit of time to women's sports could be accounted for a kaleidoscope of reasons. On one hand, as males are inherited with a more robust musculature system, their innate exercise abilities are fitted with more physical power compare to females, therefore males are more likely to achieve higher limitations in physical strength, which can raise people's willingness to watch males' sports games. On the other hand, it is also a kind of trend that females are generally not fans of sports, only a few numbers of them are likely to appreciate sports, thus female athletes are hard to recruit, which can decrease those media's willingness to broadcast females' sports games. Although females could be males' equals and rivals in many aspects, exposing both males' and females' games on TV with equal frequency is not a feasible practise just yet. For one thing, due to the phenomenon that females are usually not sports fans, the market is not wide enough to support fiscal needs or endorsements. For instance, brands like Nike and Adidas are inclined to seek male athletes to endorse their brands, owing to the public's tendency and a wider market in males' sports games. For another, with the tradition that embeds within cultures, females who play sports are not able to meet social expectations, such as the stereotype that females should be as housewives to deal with household chores, hence it is not usual and reasonable for females to pursue their dreams as athletes, at least for Asian countries. In a nutshell, despite broadcasting males' sports games are more prevalent to those of females, the reasons are still reasonable to explain this kind of phenomenon, ranging from the market that isn't wide enough to not able to meet social expectations.