If countries are serious about solving traffic problems, they should tax private cars very heavily and use the money to provide free or very cheap rail travel. In what extent do you agree or disagree?

Road congestion is one of the major serious hurdles found in most of the nations. This has, however, ensued a debate of sorts that government should tax private cars heavily for solving traffic problems and provide free or cheap rail travel by using that money or not. To embark upon a discussion, the proponents of the former view argue that increasing number of vehicles have saturated the roads, if the government levy taxes to private cars, people will think about alternatives like public transport. Thus, the number of cars wandering on the road will be a lot lower. Besides this, the local Council should look at facilitating commuters with the better availability and free or lower rate of public transport like rails or buses with the expanded timetable. This policy also forces the authorised Institutions to design a better form of the transportation system. Furthermore, tax money collected by the public can be used to improve public transport. For instance, the government can use it to build better roads and well-equipped bus stations and railway Stations. Apart from it, this measure gives positive effects to the environment, the air will not be as polluted as that of before and the traffic jam will not occur so frequently as that of before. However, the advocates of the latter view deem that some masses are not able to pay taxes because they do not have good jobs and they have not enough money to pay heavy taxes to the authorities. Secondly, It is undeniable that automobile industries have absorbed so many employees. As the demand for the motor vehicle decreases due to high tax rate many car companies would reduce their employment number. Eventually, this will cause unemployment and hamper the economic growth of the country in the long run. To conclude, this measure is worth considering to improve the current situation but before implementing this decision the government should consider all the possible consequences.