Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, the crime rate is increasing with the rising population. As per the research done by Times of India, crimes are high in places where there is more unemployment. However, there is an argument whether there should be a fixed penalty or, every breach should be evaluated individually and accordingly the criminal should be charged. In this essay, we will discuss both the sides and then will share my opinion. On one hand, it is argued that each type of crime should have a pre-decided set of charges which should be applicable to the offender. If a person commits a heinous act no matter what the reasons are, it is a crime and should be treated strictly and equally. To explain it better, if an individual steals from anyone, they should be treated as a criminal and get a fixed punishment as all other robbers may get for robbery. As a result, this will give equal treatment to all the foul-committer, irrespective of their background, gender and social status. On the other hand, many others believe that every crime has a reason and considering it, the criminal should be dealt with. Moreover, an unfortunate act could be a result of self-defence, or someone could have been forced to do it, or the person had no intention of harm and it could be an accident. For example, if a young woman walking down the street alone is attacked by a robber and she, in self-defence pushes the robber away, resulting, the robber gets an injury beyond recovery. Therefore, such act cannot be judged equal to an act where a person intends to hurt another person for revenge. To conclude, in my opinion, every act of crime should be evaluated by considering the circumstances, intend and background of the unfortunate event. Consequently, landing on the charges and penalties to be implied on the suspect held for the heinous act. Hence, implying a fixed set of charges will be unfair to the victim of circumstance and innocent who landed into trouble without and bad intension.