As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Making a profit has long been the top priority of all businesses, yet there has been a growing concern about their corporate social responsibilities. I would argue that companies are obliged to contribute more to society rather than sampling making money. On the one hand, I accept that businesses must make money in order to survive in the modern competitive world. It is true that the meaning of the existence of a firm to generate profits for its shareholders and founders maintain operational activities. In fact, production profits after cost deduction, such as rentals, employee payrolls, utilities, taxes would be important to determine company survival. If a company is unable to make profits, it will stop running and go bankrupted, meaning that social obligations become irrelevant. In other words, a company can only make a positive contribution to society if it is in good financial health. I believe that besides the sole aim of maximizing profit, companies have a wider role to play in modern society. Firstly, in fact, through their manufacturing process, companies could exploit natural resources and discharge toxic sewage without proper treatment, which might lead to irreversible implications for the environment. As a result, firms should invest in their waste treatment systems to mitigate environmental footprint as well as sponsor environmental protection campaigns of the local authorities, which would ensure the suitable expansion of international companies. Furthermore, instead of taking advantage of accounting loopholes, companies should be committed to contributing to society through the tax system, which would foster local prosperity and well-being in the long run.   In conclusion, I believe that companies should place as much importance on their social responsibilities as they do on their financial objectives.