Some schools have restricted the use of mobile phones. Is this a positive development or a negative one?

Using mobile phones, in the school, have been prohibited by some educators. In my opinion, this is a positive step towards improving the focus on academics and kid’s wellbeing. This essay will illustrate, why it is necessary to control the access to personal gadgets at schools. Although, there is no doubt that technology is helping to shape up the future of the education system but maintaining the right balance is also paramount. Technology at times has also witnessed to be a major distractor and is increasingly impacting academics in a negative way. For Instance, imagine a class full of students, where a teacher is trying to teach and in between several different devices are buzzing with half of the class busy within their own world, doesn’t it look like a real disaster? To ensure the right level of concentration is maintained, it would be wise to ban these devices in classrooms. Secondly, it has also been observed that kids these days enjoy virtual games on their personal devices, more than hitting the playground and playing real ones. Physical movement is a must for adequate development of our body and mind, whereas, due to a digital world, no such movement is adversely affecting children’s physical and mental development. For example, a recent study shows kids who are not exposed to physical activities are 30% less in their IQ levels and physical strength, in comparison to the ones who follow some or the other kind of exercise regime. In conclusion, to ensure our next generation is growing healthy and sharp-minded, we have to do a conscious effort and make them learn how to maintain an adequate balance between the virtual and physical worlds. Restricting technology usage at education centres would definitely be a positive step forward.