As countries develop, more and more people buy and use their own cars. Do the advantages of this trend for individuals outweigh the disadvantages for the environment?

Citizens of diverse nations have benefited considerably from economic prosperity which not only improves their living standards, but also enhances their purchasing power that enables people to enjoy previous unaffordable or even luxury stuff. It can be widely observed that an increasing number of households have equipped themselves with at least one car each, which has more disadvantages for the environment rather than advantages for individuals. Undeniably, vehicles can offer plenty of conveniences for citizens. Under the progress of urbanization, the city layouts have been greatly extended while people are living more dispersedly in different communities compared to past residence structure. With cars, it is easier for people to reach their destinations within short periods of time, which offers more freedom for individuals’ choice of residence as well as enhances their efficiency of commuting to some extent. Considering from the exploitation of natural fuel, however, such a development shall be judged in a more comprehensive way. More vehicles require for more supplies of energy, thus imposing a great threat on the preservation of limited natural fuel. Once the natural resources are exhausted, it is no longer possible for people to reverse this phenomenon, posing a fatal influence on human existence. What is more, more waste gases from cars will be emitted, which inevitably threatens the environmental balance. Up until now, no feasible method has been invented to perfectly tackle the environmental pollution. As a result, both the environment and the public health have undergone massive tortures. For example, people living in cities have long been suffering from diseases in their noses and lungs. Some are even attached by cancers just because they have long been exposed to the pollution caused by car emissions. The wide equipment of cars has indeed triggered great dangers to the whole natural system. In conclusion, although conveniences to individuals provided by cars are highly visible, the considerable flaws and troubles caused by this phenomenon have always served as an alarm and it is urgent to implement certain countermeasures to slow down this development