Shopping is now one of the most popular forms of leisure activity in many countries for young adults. Why is this? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Certainly, shopping are penetrating into our daily life and we can see them everywhere. People have a myriad of views about shopping as they can affect us both positively and negatively without our notice. Although there are advantages of shopping, they are outweighed by the disadvantages. Regarding the positive side of shopping, probably the most significant benefit is that it is one of the indispensable elements of buying a product. It provides a golden opportunity for customers to get their products as well as receiving the items with the unique characteristics and exclusive benefits. Without shopping, people may not be informed of a wide range of choices of new products they have and will stick with traditional products. Another benefit which should not be overlooked is that shopping can encourage people to communicate with each other through face-to-face or online when the young discuss the fashion trend and design within a short period of time. The young people often view various advertisements about the new products in the shopping malls and from various windows of shops. Fascinating storyline and hilarious characters are often involved, bringing entertainment to customers. Despite the aforementioned benefits, I believe that there are numerous reasons why it can bring relaxing and enjoyable feelings to customers at all. The most important reasons is that shopping encourages consumer culture, where we are encouraged to keep abreast of the latest trend. As certain renowned brands, like Gucci, Chanel are associated with a higher status; people may fulfill their vanity at the expense of lavishing money on something unnecessary where in extreme cases people are plagued with debts. Another ample reason is that in an attempt to persuade people to buy a product, advertisements often create unrealistic expectations with exaggerated effects, manipulating people at the end of the day. A striking illustration is that in fashion magazines, they feature glamorous and thin models, conveying the message that “dressing up with fashionable designers clothes is tantamount to beauty. In conclusion, shopping can bring us information and encourage relaxation, I still believe that the behavior of shopping promotes consumer culture and conveys inappropriate message or values are more significant.