Should students be allowed to choose which classes they take, or should they be required to take the same classes as everyone else? What are the advantages and disadvantages of each approach to education?

Some believe that schools and colleges should select the subjects to be taught while some argue that students must be given free willingly to choose what they want to learn. Although many may see it as a positive phenomenon, these trends are not without drawbacks. Both the merits and demerits will be discussed before a reasonable conclusion is drawn. On the one hand, syllabus of any standard designs by highly skilled educationalists as per the age of students, so every student needs to learn the same subjects such as maths, science to equips the required knowledge for life, even if they don't like it much. For instance, India has an education department to plan the curriculum for students of every age group after evaluating age factors, mental ability, and other calculative factors with the help of civil psychologists. Therefore, they plan every educational course after qualitative research to know what a child of age five can inculcate easily as well as gracefully. Moreover, in adolescence, students probably not aware of what they like and want to do in the future. Sometimes they like music, and at the next movement, they find games fascinated. However, the common curriculum helps them to learn all subjects under the guidance of experts. Which they further use to identify the key area they use as a skill for their future career. For example, till my 8th standard, I had never found Computer science captivating, but after that, I started spending most of my time doing Computer programming. Hence, I am a Software engineer in an MNC. On the other hand, a pre-defined syllabus for all class students also has a negative aspect. A monotonous subject sometimes becomes a reason for stress as well as to avoid school. But learning their favourite course helps them to focus more and to get intense knowledge of that particular. Besides this, offsprings should have entitlement to choose the course and subjects of their interest. Sometimes extra-curriculum subjects such as music, painting lead the pupils to successful career life. For instance, an eminent Bollywood singer Sonu Nigam had music as his additional subject from the 5th class, which become a reason behind his success in the Hindi music industry. To conclude, even though it's highly crucial to learn generic subjects with all the students. But learning subject of interest is entitled to students as this is beneficial for their overall well-being such as educational, mental, and physical growth.