In some countries, young people have become richer, healthier, and live longer, but they are less happy. What are the causes? What can be done to address this situation?

Although young people nowadays are provided with a more comfortable life and a better health care system, they are not necessarily happy as expected. This essay will put forward some factors that contribute to this paradox and propose several feasible remedies to mitigate the situation. To begin with, there are two main causes of unhappiness among young individuals. The first culprit is the overpopulation in certain cities and countries which raises intense employment competition, increasing work and study pressure. In fact, many students choose to end their lives after long-term suffering from severe depression because of the tension in studying to have excellent qualifications in order to get a decent job. Secondly, the development of social networks where most people only showcase their positive aspects including financial power and fame might lead to self-deprecation among some adolescents. Compared to the past when people merely concentrated on their own work rather than others, the young generation currently is more affected by peer pressure and is under higher expectations from their parents and society. Several measures could be put in place to address this alert issue. First of all, it is necessary for youngsters to be encouraged to play sports since this is one of the most efficient ways to release stress and reinforce strong mental health. For instance, universities and companies can open sports tournaments with prizes and bonuses for both winners and participants. In addition, education systems need to pay more attention to the mental well-being of the students, including stress management, resilience and self-care techniques. For example, schools and universities can engage a psychologist whom students with depression and stress can talk to and have proper treatments. In conclusion, the decline in the happiness level of the young generation despite their favourable conditions can be explained by the culture of comparison fostered by social media, as well as the pressure coming from today’s competitive job market. To address this problem, several programs need to be integrated into schools and workplaces to create a happier and more fulfilling environment for the young community.