In many countries, women are allowed to take maternity leave from their jobs during the first months after the birth of their baby. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s society, many countries allow women to take vacation to taking their baby for a few months. Some argue that it is beneficial for promoting the birth rate, while others believe that it would have a negative effect on women’s careers. In my opinion, I believe there are more advantages than drawbacks. First of all, women can have a lot of time to recover their bodies. It is well known that giving birth to a child consumes women’s physical energy, especially during the first few months, and this situation leads women to be unable to start work immediately. Secondly, women can accompany and look after their babies. For example, newborn babies, who almost need to be fed every two hours, can receive regular feedings if their mothers are at home. Additionally, during the period of maternity, the mother and child can become closer to each other. Some studies have shown that newborn babies are lacking security. They are transitioning from the mother’s womb to an unfamiliar environment and need to establish a relationship with their parents. Thus, it is beneficial for a child’s growth to have the mother’s accompany. However, some people argue that it has a negative effect on women’s careers if they do not work for a few months. For instance, not only would women’s former positions be replaced by others, but their salaries would also decrease. But I believe that only when women’s physical and emotional states become better can they work efficiently. In conclusion, while there are some disadvantages of maternity leave, I think society and companies can provide some approaches to help women minimize the negative impacts on their careers. Thus, I believe that the advantages of maternity leave outweigh the drawbacks, such as helping women rebuild their bodies, take care of babies, and establish relationships.