Some educators believe that every child should be taught how to play a musical instrument. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Presently, stress-related life problems have become an area of concern. Children,from a very young age, are known to face many physical as well as mentally taxing situations. While there are many remedies to circumvent stress and anxiety, one of the most well-proven and known therapies is the sound of music. Thus, many educators have the view that every child should be taught to play an instrument. I personally opine that although the idea of teaching instrumental music to children can have a few drawbacks, the advantages outweigh the demerits. Primarily, learning to play a musical instrument can be highly beneficial to a young-mind. Music helps develop complex cognitive skills that will help in improving the academic performance of many children. Also,learning an instrument from a local professional aids in inculcating traditional and cultural values. For example, in most Indian households, children are enrolled in musical classes from the tender age of 4 or 5 years. These children are taught to respect and obey the teacher teaching instrumental music. Nevertheless, in such classes,children are taught folk songs, religious hymns and other famous regional music forms. This eventually helps to preserve the culture,traditions and customs of the region and the country. Secondly, music is known to soothe the nerves. In this highly competitive world, learning to play music on an instrument can act as a breather in a child’s monotonous and tedious routine. It also helps in developing a healthy mental state as well as personality. For instance, most children who learn to play instruments take part in contest and competitions arranged in schools or by other organisations. These situations help in developing the child’s confidence levels. It also teaches small life lessons to children; like- participation is much more important than the act of winning. However, as most parents are caught up trying to meet ends to fulfil the requirements of their families, they may not have enough time to escort their offspring to instrumental music classes and competitions. Furthermore, these classes tend to be very expensive and cannot be afforded by all. Additionally, not all children are gifted enough to benefit from it. For instance, it has been noted that some people are better dancers, artists or sportsmen. Likewise, few individual’s prefer singing than playing an instrument. Subsequently, since the classes are extremely expensive, the young- ones might be forced to continue the sessions even after expressing their disinterest in the activity. In such a situation, instead of music being a powerful soothing and stress-relieving agent, it only adds to the already increased stress levels in a young child’s life. In conclusion, I firmly believe that instrumental music can help in not just a child’s neurodevelopment but also can help in improving their personality and psychological health. Even though the act of learning to play music on an instrument for children can be highly advisable in today’s world, it should be kept in mind that not all individuals are tailored to be an instrumentalist. Therefore, children should be given other options and to learn instrumental music should not be mandatory.