A country becomes more interesting and develops more quickly when its population includes a mixture of nationalities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Ever since the dawn of industrialization, an increasing trend of global migration of people has been observed. As a result, many developed nations, have a mixed population of citizens from different cultures and traditions. It is argued that this diversification could help the countries to progress faster. While there are many benefits of a heterogeneous community, I personally opine that the demerits could be detrimental and would overweigh the merits. Primarily, culturally and ethnically varied people make the country richer economically and socially. Due to the large inflow of expatriates of different nationalities, there is the availability of goods and cuisines from around the world. Festivals belonging to different beliefs and religions are celebrated with great enthusiasm and people learn to live in harmony with each other. For instance, in Dubai, to represent this multiplicity, a theme park called the Global Village has been designed. This spot is not just a place of interest for the residents of Dubai but has also become an attraction for thousands of tourists every year. It is one of the most visited spots, in the world for leisure, shopping experience and entertainment it provides. Thus, there has been immense development in the tourism industry all over the country. Subsequently leading to economic growth. However, many social issues crop up due to the difference in views and opinions of people from varied backgrounds which causes civil and political unrest between the citizens. As a feeling of hatred often develops among the people and result in conflicts. Even worse, in some countries, it divides the nation as people start possessing discriminatory attitudes toward minority groups. If such situations prevail, the country will have a reduction in its international tourism and economy will also be badly affected. Moreover, the mixed population in a nation bring their own cultures and thus the countries tend to lose their own national identity and heritage. As a result, the exclusiveness of the landscape is lost. For example, many large metropolitan cities in the world these days look almost the same and have lost their cultural identity. To conclude, multi-ethnic societies are prone to many social conflicts. Hence, the governments of these countries should give priority to take up these issues and resolve them at the right time. I firmly believe that with peace amongst its citizens, a diversified population could lead to enrichment of cultures and faster development of countries.