Getting promotion is one of the biggest drives for people to apply themselves and work hard in the modern workplace. Why do you think people are so driven to get promotion? What other factors influence people to work hard?

Promotion is an effective motivator in the workplace. Employees go that extra mile, performing to their best ability for that one chance to be promoted. There are various reasons for this phenomenon in today's workplace that includes higher income and more responsibilities, but this is not the only motivation behind people working harder. This essay will discuss in detail why individuals work those long hours for that promotion or just to make a difference in their companies. Nowadays, both adults in the same household have to work to make ends meet. Giving your best effort to secure that promotion would bring some financial relieve or even buy you some well-deserved luxury. For example, a local newspaper has published a report stating that 70% of employees were eager for their promotion based on a better income. Furthermore, some are performing to their best to secure a promotion for that status and respect that comes with the job, where others are more interested in the responsibility and challenges that it provides. Nevertheless, a promotion still stays the biggest drive for people to work harder. However, promotion is not the only factor to urge people on to excellence. Unemployment has increased over the last decade, and people work harder to secure a job position. In today's competitive and technological world, you need to become the best in what you do, making yourself unreplaceable. For example, if you are a stellar employee, the company will go out of their way to keep you employed. Furthermore, are there other factors such as recognition, acknowledgement and appreciation that motivates employees to improve beyond their abilities. It is said that hard-working individuals will always rise above all. To summarise, promotions do encourage employees to work harder for that increase in income and that stylish lifestyle; nonetheless, promotion is not the only motivator, and a person works hard for job security and to be able to make a difference in their company.