The working week should be shorter and workers should have longer weekend. Do you agree or disagree?

Weekend days can be different based on the countries and certain regulations but the matter that is often argued about, which is the number of days considered for working week and weekend, is basically the same. Some individuals, with whom I do not agree, claim that workers need more than 1 or 2 days off each week. In this essay, major drawbacks of increasing the duration of weekends are going to be mentioned. At first glance, lowering the number of work days might seem a perfect idea, as workers would have the chance to spend more time with their families and enjoy their life better. However, we should also consider that different tasks are not done by themselves. In detail, the rise in the number of off days, results in less time to complete any sort of jobs, especially the ones related to government and law. For instance, banks and courts would be closed for about half of the week and a construction site would take much longer to be usable. Moreover, schools are also effected by this change, as an educational year needs to be around a month longer in order to finish all the subjects, if only a day was added to the weekends. In addition, less time spent at work also contributes to lower payments, as many jobs specify the income based on the hours spent at work. To conclude, while it can be a glory to get more rest, taking a closer look at its outcomes such as lower incomes, educational year extension and the slower pace in governmental tasks completion, would make me like the old style better.