In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

People in some countries now consider owning a home to be more important than renting one. This essay will discuss the underlying reasons for this preference and elaborate on why it is a negative development. There are two main reasons for people’s preference for home ownership. First, for some people, owning a house or an apartment means that they do not have to waste time on accommodation hunting when a rental contract expires. Therefore, they can just focus on their career goals or other important things, such as marriage. Second, nowadays many people buy a home with a mortgage, and so they know the exact amount of money they owe and also the regular amount they have to pay. This allows people to make a clear long-term financial plan for the future. However, this is not the case when they rent a home because they are subject to changes in the rental price made by landlords. The trend that many people value home ownership over rented accommodation is negative due to the following reasons. Most houses or apartments have low liquidity, which means they cannot be easily exchanged for cash. As a result, people who are still redeeming their mortgages may not be able to spend money on other big investments. In addition, while a tenant can easily terminate a rental contract and find a new place if they are not satisfied with their current accommodation, it is very difficult for home owners to do the same. In other words, once a person makes an unwise decision and buys a home that they later regret, they are usually left with only two options: either make the home available for rent or accept living in a place they are not happy with. In conclusion, people in some countries now prefer to buy their homes because they value stability that owning a home provides and want to have clear future plans. However, unless thorough considerations are made, home owners may have to face undesirable outcomes from such a decision.