Some people believe that students should be taught international news as a subject at school. Others feel that this would be a waste of valuable school time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Currently, there’s a debate on the usefulness of teaching world events in educational institutions. It is a relevant debate considering that global news like the one on Corona Virus has dominated events in every nation in the last few months. This essay will examine the opposing points of view with illustrations and come to a conclusion on the best path to take. Firstly, in this age of Internet connectivity, free access to unfiltered news can be dangerous, especially if it is touting misinformation. For instance, during the COVID pandemic, misinformation about the need for masks was rampant everywhere. If studying current global news had been part of the course of studies, teachers could have helped learners to discern the authenticity of the advice on preventive gear by applying principles of discourse analysis and decide their own way forward in the situation. On the other hand, most of the news reported internationally is usually important for policymakers or, government officials, and not for a group of school-going youth. For example, the reporting on the invasion and usurping of Indian territory by China in 2020, will be of no particular use to, say British or Tanzanian youth. It would be a waste of teacher and student time to analyze such an event and come up with a plan of action. To conclude, while the move to include studies on world news in schools is a worthy idea, I believe there is a need to sieve and choose the type of news to include in the school syllabi. Two possible criteria to apply are, validity and feasibility to the student population, and determine what piece of news should be included or excluded respectively.