Some schools have restricted the use of mobile phones. Is this a positive development or a negative one?

Mobile phones are being widely used by kids over the globe these days. While these devices can play a role in connectedness and safety, many schools have restricted the access of these devices on campus. In my view, this is a positive development and I believe that this change can make a positive impact on children's academic as well as physical life. Firstly, restrictions on mobile phones in the classroom itself can improve concentration while learning. This is simply because, if there are no sounds of notification beeps or typing on mobile phones, students can concentrate fully on what teachers are teaching. For instance, if there is a continuous sound of notification pop-ups then children can't control their urge to check notification updates or any social media updates. As a result, they fail to pay full attention to learning. This can have a long term impact on their academics. So, banning phones in the classroom is a positive development. Lastly, the ban on the use of phones on campus can improve children's physical development. The reason for this is that, if phones are not banned on campus then children will be busy with their phones, instead of playing on the ground with their friends. For example, many children can be seen from a school where mobile phones are allowed, playing online games in recess time instead of playing on the ground. Because of that, they cannot fully evolve physically. Hence, it is a positive sign to ban the use of phones in school. To conclude, despite phones are part of modern lives, I strongly feel that their use should be restricted in order to grow children academically as well as physically.