In spite of the advances made in agriculture , many people around the world still go hungry why is this the case ? what can be done about this problem?

Although the agricultural sector has seen huge advancements in the past few years, globally a lot of people still suffer from hunger. I believe that this is a result of using crops to make biofuels instead of distributing it to the population but governments can mitigate this issue by redistributing the available crops. The main cause of food insecurity worldwide is the use of plants to make biofuels. Many governments are concerned about the environmental hazards imposed by the combustion of fossil fuel, as a result many countries are now replacing this by using wheat, rice, and corn to make fuel which reduces the amount left for people to eat leading to an increase in food insecurity despite the advanced agricultural technologies. For instance, a recent study in North America concluded that more than 50% of the harvested crops are used to manufacture biofuels. Authorities however can tackle the problem by establishing fairer systems to distribute crops. Prioritizing the human need for food is what food distribution should be based on. Every country is responsible for ensuring the food security of every citizen living in it which can be achieved by designing new systems that firstly fulfil the population's need and then dedicate the remaining percentage of crops for biofuel production and other uses. For example, the united states is planning to increase the percentage of harvested crops for food by 1.7% to meet the demand of its growing population. In conclusion, many people worldwide are suffering from food insecurity despite the new technologies used in agriculture because countries use the majority of their crops to produce biofuels. This however can be tackled by redistributing harvests in a fair way.