Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In this modern age of globalization and industrialization, the market has a lot of scope for new ideas and startups. Research shows that every other person wants to own an organization rather than working in one. However, there are pros and cons of this which will be discussed in this essay. Undeniably, the world is an open market offering range of products and services across the globe. The product that might be common at a certain location, could be exclusive at another. To give an example, spices which are abundantly available in Asian countries are considered to be exotic in western countries. Consequently, becoming an opportunity for people to trade and profit from making such commodities easily accessible to the other part of the world. On the other hand, committing to new business brings along a lot of responsibilities and challenges. One of the hurdles could be, operating a business is full of risks. It brings along the danger of losing all the hard-earned money into an idea which might not turn out to be fruitful. For example, opening a business of raw fabric cloths in a region where local customers prefer to purchase ready-made cloths. Such involvement could result in disappointment. Another byproduct of starting a new venture is stress. Commerce involves taking a lot of workload of, day to day operation and of achieving the desired outcome, resulting in stress. To illustrate, an owner has to invest a considerable amount of time and energy into running a company which leaves no time for themselves and their family. Leading to the stress of managing lots of roles daily. To conclude, though there are lots of scopes for a person to become self-employed and be successful, it also brings along too much workload and the chances of failure. Therefore, such steps should be taken after lots of calculations and research.