Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages? Give reason for your answer and include any relevant example from your own knowledge or experience.

It is very commonly seen nowadays that people are working for a long period and as a result, they have very less time for the activities to be done in their free time. This essay will provide arguments that this situation has more disadvantages than merits. Firstly, due to sedentary lifestyle people are spending less time with their family and friends. The main reason for this is more competition at the workplaces. In other words, due to globalization and an increasing number of businesses, employers want their staff more efficient and updated to the new methods and technology. Due to this, many people are working hard to compete with others and reach their targets. Therefore, people are spending much time in the workplace. For instance, a survey conducted by world health organization found that 60% of people are suffering from stress and depression and this is because of the huge amount of work. Also, this impacted their personal life as they are not having spare time for some fun. Secondly, with this hectic schedule at the workplace and no time to enjoy with their family or peers is detrimental to one's health. People are working over hours and very less time to maintain their health and fitness. Therefore, it is seen frequently that people are having pre-packed food and to do more smoking which is injurious to health. For example, according program in CTV survey shows that numbers of chain smokers have increased and this due to massive workloads and pressure at the workplace. To conclude, I believe that the quality time to spend with one's family and friends are gradually decreasing and this is because of globalization and competition. Thus, it impacts the health of one's person mentally and physically. It is the duty of an individual to maintain a balanced life to enjoy other activities.