Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, social media has been used by numerous people and the use of social media sites has been increasing rapidly over the past few years. Meanwhile, some people believe that it is dangerous to share personal information on social media sites. Debaters argue that whether the pros of social media surpasses the cons of social media. This essay will certainly that the disadvantages of using social media surpass the advantages because although it is useful to get new friends, however, sharing personal information on these websites is extremely risky, and also, it acts as an attractive tool to the younger generation, which is also harmful. On the one hand, social media has some advantages. One of the main advantages of social media is that it facilitates citizens to make new friends, which in turn also builds strong relationships. For instance, when two unknown persons start talking on Facebook, then after 2-3 months they will become friends, Furthermore, strong bonding and relationship will also be built between those people after a few months later. On the other hand, there are also some disadvantages of social media. Sharing personal information is one of the disadvantages because it can be manipulated for a certain purpose. For example, in 2016, in the USA election, Cambridge University hacked the personal data of every citizen in the USA for the prediction of the USA election result. In addition to the previous points, it is a pretty attractive tool for adolescents. This has a direct correlation with the hampering of their education. To clarify more, plenty of students spent plenty of time on social media sites as they are designed in that way. As a result, it hampers their study as well as the growth of their career. In conclusion, social media sites are considered to be one of the entertainment sites in the modern world. This essay elaborates that despite its contribution to make new friends, it is extremely attractive, and sharing on their websites is pretty risky, which in turn, proves that the disadvantages completely outweigh the advantages. In the future, the younger generation should keep the above factors in their mind before using social media.