Nowadays, more people get married to someone of a different culture than they ever did. Why is this happenig? Discuss the benefits and demerits of this trend.

Globalisation has changed our ways of understanding and acknowledging different cultures. Similarly, many individuals are accepting this new norm and even getting hitched, because they want to break all stereotypes and create equality among all human races. However, there are a few advantages and disadvantages of such practice, which shall be elaborated further. To begin with, the primary merits is that it instigates solidarity and erase all discrimination among the various culture. Moreover, people acknowledge and accept different traditions and learn more about them. Another reason is that it instils a positive mindset, as it breaks all stigma eventually leading to a happier and stress-free life. For instance, Numerous studies have concluded that interracial marriages have benefited families per se, but also the society at large due to the fact that it proves that people are more open-minded and accepting these days. As a result, such methodology has a positive impact not only on a particular individual but everyone around as well. On the contrary, there are some setbacks such as loss of tradition. Even though such practices are commendable, many family ties are severed thereby creating stress and pressure. Furthermore, this also has a massive impact on children as they are unaware of their ancestral heritage; for example, traditions are a significant part of the Indian culture, but since people are adapting with the western culture many Indian children are incognizant of their ancestors. Consequently, several cultures are on the verge of extinction or even lost. To summarize, there are two sides to a coin; therefore, although there are some disadvantages of interracial marriages, it is evident that people are benefitting tremendously because of it. Nevertheless, a person can still learn about their tradition even after marriage