Television dominates the free time of too many people. It can make people lazy and prevent them from socialising with others. Do you agree or disagree?

Television has revolutionized the modern era with the exciting content and knowledgeable programs broadcasted every day. However, it is believed by many that this has become a major issue as people now tend to choose television over other activities for spending their leisure time and socializing. Some experts have quoted this as the primary culprit behind the people becoming lazy and a significant fall in social values among them. Moreover, I strongly believe that, though Television is an excellent source of entertainment, the adverse effects outweighs the benefits of the same. People spending the majority of their free time watching television, unknowingly deteriorate their health which in turn affects their physical and mental well-being. The prolonged sitting and continuous watching of the shows have severe detrimental effects on the body, as these not only hurts the structure of the body but the vision power as well. This trend has engulfed most of the youth and the children. A good example of this is the recent report published by the WHO outlining the outcomes of the survey conducted in western countries, about the healthiness of people, that over half the population of USA are now diabetic and have a poor vision which cannot be corrected with latest medicines and advanced treatments. Additionally, when people sit in front of their TV all day long, they do not have time to go out and meet other people. Eventually, affecting their social skills and makes them introverts. These days, it is quite common for both children and adults having their meals sitting in front of the television. They rarely take their eyes off the television tend to finish the food without even looking at the plate. This habit hurts relations within the family as well. Also, it leads to binge eating and thus makes people obese further limiting their activity levels. In conclusion, it is true that spending a lot of time watching TV can make people lazy and discourage them from socializing with others; however, this might worsen in upcoming time if the course correction is not attempted in coming years.