People tend to work longer hours nowadays. Working hours has a negative effect on themselves, their families and the society, so working hours should be restricted. Do you agree or disagree?

In today’s society, working long hours has become a part of the daily routine. More and more workers have extended their working hours, and this has resulted in adverse effects on themselves, their families and the communities. I strongly believe that working hours should be limited and my opinions are further discussed with relevant examples. First of all, a few decades ago, the average daily number of working hours was significantly lower than the present, and they had a better work life balance. Nowadays a lot of positions in different spheres are hourly basis and hence people tend to earn more by working for a longer period of time. By working too long, they often become tired, lazy and reluctant to carry out the physical exercise in order to remain fit and healthy and eventually loose health and become sick. Moreover, they become extensively addicted to their work and they destroy their social life. The repercussions are so severe that their families and friends remain deprived of their attention and in the end, they end up losing the balance between their family and personal life. Another reason is that spending most of the time in the workplace can be helpful in terms of our career growth and other work targets. But, as they usually spend most of their time at offices, they tend to neglect their health and exercise, resulting in various types of severe health issues. For example, a survey by WHO on the effects of longer working hours on the brain outlined severe harsh impacts on overall health. Thus, to conclude, it can be finally said that working longer might help people achieving their temporary and short-term goals but to lead a healthy and life, a work life balance is extremely important. This can only be achieved by joint efforts by people and government, so they can enjoy this planet’s resources and the ultimate gift of God, human life.