Governments should spend more money on education than on recreation and sports. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued by some people that a country’s government should distribute its national budget more to the education sector than the entertainment and sports sector. It is agreed that money should be spent more on educational institutes rather than on sports clubs, cinemas or theatres. Firstly, this essay will discuss how education helps a country to be competitive in the world and secondly, discuss how better citizens can be made through investing in education; followed by a reasoned conclusion. A good point to consider is that through investing in schools, colleges, universities, and research institutes a country can become a leader in the world. This is because, the higher quality education a country’s citizen will receive, the more knowledgeable the will be. As a result, these citizens will employ their brain for the economic and social development of their nation that will give competitive advantages. For example, an empirical study conducted by Cambridge University in 2009 found that the USA became the leader of all nations because of having highly qualified professionals in different sectors. Another reason for spending more money on the educational sector is to make idol citizens among the other population of the earth. People, who have values and ethics in their thinking as well as in their work, are considered as perfect citizens. This can be only done by providing good quality of educational facilities. In other words, educated people know better what is wrong and what is right compared to the uneducated people. This can be illustrated by the fact Japanese are known as polite, honest and sincere people in the world because their government impart those values through the education from the primary school. In conclusion, this essay supports the idea of investing more fund on education rather than the entertainment because it facilitates to become a strong country and to make better citizens in the world.