In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think it is a positive or negative situation?

To some cultures in the world, the act of possessing a home is far more encouraged than paying for a rental one. There are several factors that might account for this belief, which leads to my opinion that this is a rational outlook. Firstly, having a residence of your own is commonly regarded as financial stability. In fact, the amount of money spent on buying a house is far higher than that of renting one for only a period of time. Moreover, after purchasing the apartment for yourself, the expenditure on home maintenance overtime is also considerable, which can be much more economical if you stay in a short - let accommodation. Therefore, only those people with a stable job that can manage all the bills and make ends meet are able to afford to own a house. Secondly, to some people, having an apartment of their own brings a sense of mental security. Living in a rental house is the same as staying in somebody else’s property. This means that they are not allowed to do certain things of their own free will. For example, they cannot make any adjustment to the furniture, nor move out anytime they wish without paying for breach of the rental agreement. Some people may argue that this is actually more convenient as you don't have to stick around a place for too long since the contract only lasts for a short time. However, the feeling of having something all for yourself, especially something as important as a home, can proffer people satisfaction which staying in a house for lease can never make up to. In conclusion, the act of preferring owning to renting a home has some reasonable explanations. I believe the positive influence it has on people can definitely compensate for any shortcomings it might possess.