The percentage of overweight children in the western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years.Discuss the causes and effect of this disturbing trend.

Nowadays, it has been observed that the number of overweight children is increasing. The percentage of overweight children has increased by 20% in the last year. This essay will discuss the causes and effects of this problem. I believe there are 2 major factors which are responsible for this problem. Firstly, an unhealthy lifestyle plays a key role in increasing the weight of a child. If a person sits ideally without participating in any outdoor activities, there is no chance for him to burn calories which leads them to gain weight. Secondly, the consumption of unhealthy food also results in gaining weight. People tend to have a bite of junk food such as chips and chocolate very frequently which slowly deteriorates our health. For example, a survey has shown that 68% of people eat junk food on a daily basis. There are quite a few negative effects of being more weighed. Primarily, it leads to obesity which is a serious threat to health. It has been noticed that it is very difficult to recover from obesity. Moreover, it makes you feel tired consistently. There is a lack of efficiency in completing any tasks. There is a great waste of energy. According to a recent survey, 56% of the children who weigh above 70 kgs find it extremely difficult to complete simple tasks in their everyday life. In conclusion, children should try their best to be healthy and participate in outdoor activities. This would help them to live a very long life.