It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and dis advantages?

Many students choose to take a gap period before entering colleges or universities. During the year, they may travel to explore new places or work to gain experiences. This essay will discuss the merits and demerits of taking a year off. One major downside of spending a year off from studying are students may forget the knowledge that they are taught during high school, thus it takes them more time to regain them in the first year of university. For example, subjects like Mathematics, Physics or History may not be used during the year off, thus when they need to apply that knowledge to learn new topics, they may take more time compared to other students, who do not have a gap in their studying. Therefore, students who do not study continuously may have disadvantages as they need to spend more effort studying. However, youngsters often find that travelling or working may widen their understanding, thus they will be more motivated to study the career that they want to pursue. For instance, students may find works in the industry that they want to learn in the future to earn real-world experiences. After a year, they may have a strong idea about the workplace, therefore a clear vision can be developed so that they know what to focus on when going back to school. With this reason, students may gain long-term benefit if they gain experiences during the time off. To conclude, spending a year off after finishing high school may have both advantages and disadvantages. Hence, students need to take advice from parents or schools in order to make a decision because it may affect their future.