In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people.

In the following essay, I will explain why I believe that people prefer to have a home ownership rather than renting a property from a private landlord. For many people owning a property is extremely important. For some it means they have achieved one of their life’s goals. I will intend to look at the positives of this trend and highlight some concerns related to it. To begin with, the ownership of homes is on the rise in many countries. Many banks are offering mortgages which are affordable and attractive for buyers. A little deposit is required and therefore people no longer require an enormous amount of money in advance. Nevertheless many people also see a home ownership as an opportunity for an investment. It is known that in the UK the property market has been on rise for several years which may make people to think of a potential profit in the future. On the other hand owning a property could be also a constraint. The Covid-19 pandemic resulted of our economies and jobs to be rather unstable and we might be soon facing a rise of mortgage rates. This can result in repossessions as many will not be able to afford to continue paying their mortgages or they will have to take out further loans in order to cover their living costs. However, we would always need to manage to pay for where we live. In conclusion, as a human beings we desire to own a home. But in the end there is a risk that might cause more harm than good due to the financial pressure and the overall happiness can become a burden. It is a continuous cycle that is between the economics and people’s desires. However sometimes taking the risk seems to be a worth it.