You should spend about 40 minutes on this task Write about the following topic: Some people think it’s better to choose friends who always have the same opinion as them. Other people believe it’s good to have friends who sometimes disagrees with them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is often argued by some that a person should befriend a like-minded counterpart; on the other hand, others think that the difference of opinions should be a basic necessity in a friendship. This essay agrees with the former as the opposite person will bring much need diversity of thoughts, which will be beneficial for the overall growth of the friendship. I will like to begin with a proverb- birds of a feather flock together-which confirm the rationality of people who hang out with an identical personality. Since they think, act, and choose alike, they never have a difference of opinion, thus, they never have a conflict, which in turn makes them a-Yes Man. The problem with this ideology is not only the non-disclosure of real facts as this might hurt the other half but also their inability to see their life differently, which is a better way to live life. For instance, two best friends, who are geeks, will always talk about books, projects, competitions, being unaware of the real world that is waiting for them in the form of travel, parties, and extra-curricular activities. On the contrary, like a magnet, opposite people attract each other. Two different counterparts, whose action, selection and thoughts are highly dissimilar, bring a fresh perspective, which is separate, but when clubbed together, act as a whole. They perfectly complement each other, and for the betterment, they do not mind rejecting another person's opinion. Because of all these benefits, I feel that two non-identical personalities are always better than identical ones. For example, Steve Jobs and Steve Wozniak, the founders of Apple corporation, were different personalities, yet they were the best of friends. To conclude, although there is a debate about whether like-minded individuals should hang out together or dissimilar people, I feel that later should be the right approach for friendship as this brings rich diversity in thoughts and actions, which is indeed beneficial to both the counterparts.