Governments in many countries have recently introduced special taxes on foods and beverages with high levels of sugar. Some think these taxes are a good idea while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Admitted, that rapid increase in health issues like Diabetes and obesity has raised a question on people’s eating habits. As a Preventive measure government has come up with an idea of introducing high taxes on packed food and beverages. Although, the majority of the people believe that it is a great initiative by the government, whereas others do not consider it as a helpful step. This essay will discuss both aspects of the phenomenon and consent with the former idea. To commence with, Junk food is quite popular among individuals nowadays and especially kids are more addicted towards it like chips, coke and many more. The step taken by the government regarding the imposition of special taxes on packed eatables and high sugar-containing drinks has been appreciated by most of the people. It will in return reduce unnecessary expenditure on unhygienic products to a great extent. Additionally, this change will be helpful in eradicating serious health diseases like diabetes, heart attacks and will also improve people’s eating habits. To exemplify, parents may prefer domestic food over fast food for themselves and children. On the contrary, this amendment can be proven problematic for the middle-class people and students who are staying away from their hometowns and depend completely on these types of food. This decision of the government will multiply their daily spending and might question their survival in a strange city. This high tax imposition has opposed by people, they are of the view that the administration should not be profitable by feeding citizens. In various countries,middle-class people are greatly dependent on bread and butter and inflation in their prices is not an appropriate decision. In conclusion, I completely agree with the idea of having restrictions on the consumption of sugary products by inflating prices but imposing high taxes may have harmful effects on certain sections of the society. Government is recommended to take a step which can meet both the purposes and do what is beneficial for the nation.