University students are increasingly studying abroad as part of their studies. Do the advantages of studying abroad outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that more and more tertiary students travel to far-flung areas to complete their studies. While it might be expensive for some to study abroad, it has the benefit of making an individual feel more independent. I believe that if students can afford it, studying abroad is far more beneficial than studying in their own countries. One major benefit of studying outside your country is learning how to be independent. Travelling to a foreign country to study teaches students to take the responsibility of every aspect of their lives, some of which might not be theirs if they study in their countries of origin surrounded by their families. For instance, when I travelled to study in Austria, I was faced by the fact that I had to be responsible for my own finance which is something that I used to rely on my parents to take care of. On the other hand, overseas studies cost much more money than studying in your locality. Apart from the expensive tuition fees required in order to admit to a decent university, students have to pay for their travel tickets and health insurance which is a huge amount of money for most to afford. For example, studies have shown that South African students who complete their degrees in Europe spend thrice the amount spent by their colleagues who complete their degrees at local universities. In conclusion, there is a recent trend that students travel overseas to complete their degrees. Although it is less affordable than studying locally, studying abroad nurtures a sense of independence. Ultimately, I personally think that the benefit of developing to an independent person outweigh the financial drawback.