People in all modern societies use drugs, but today’s youth are experiencing with both legal and illegal drugs, and at an increasing early age. Some sociologists claim that parents and other members of society often set a bad example. Discuss the causes and effects of widespread drug use by young people.

In the present era, drug addiction among teenagers and young adults has become a common problem. According to some pedagogues, parents and community leaders are somehow responsible for this situation. Although a number of reasons are behind the current trend, it can be solved. Lack of supervision and the availability of drugs are the major causes of drug addiction. Many parents are not aware of their offspring; as a result, these youngsters as well as young adults get the chance to mix with peers who already have gone astray and attached to take toxins. Consequently, they feel interested to test the poisons and gradually become dependent on consuming these. Likewise, in many nations, nowadays drug is trafficking easily by sharing bribes with the security forces of the boarders. Thus, illegal items get available in the market, and often tested by people. For instance, a survey reveals that more than 35% of adolescents are addicted to pill and injection because of not having a strong attachment to the families. Nevertheless, the guidance of the parents and law enforcement could tackle narcotic dependency. If guardians regularly inspect with whom their offspring are spending time with, it will refrain many of the children to have a bad connection because of the punishments and learnings they would have from their ancestors. Similarly, imposing law and legislation strictly by the government will deter the smuggler to supply such illegal poisonous items. For example, In Bangladesh, the number of addicts has been reducing after introducing no tolerance rules for illegal narcotics dealing. In conclusion, users of illegal medicines are increasing and most of them are starting to take these at an early age. The absence of proper observation by the family and easy access to drugs are the main reasons; however, it can be addressed by providing guidance to the young and also applying rigorous punishment to the dealers.