Band-9 Samples: In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasize that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Due to the recent increase in interest in advertising, a lot of companies are trying to create or speculate that their products have some brand-new features. I believe that the two main reasons for it are higher competition than before and the desire to create a unique product that will differ from others. This approach has cons and pros; in this essay, I will elaborate more on this and provide factual information to prove my point. Firstly, it is hard to deny the overall changes in today's marketing methods. Most businesses spend a good part of their dividends on promoting their products and are willing to come up with all kinds of marketing strategies. One of the easiest yet competitive ways is to portray the product with new features that other similar ones don' t have. For example, the first promo of the "iPhone" was remarkable because it showed that new iPhones could be small but at the same time have great memory, camera, sensor screen, and other phones that were sold before. Because of this development, a new era for smartphones began, and now ordinary people and companies around the world still benefit from it. On the other hand, some companies don' t tell the full truth about their products and lie about having new types of products while not actually improving them. A great example of this would be a story in the Russian auto market. It happened five years ago; the biggest auto concern put up an advertisement about an upcoming model of the "Lada" car renewal, and they will present it in one month for people to witness. During this event, the car unfortunately couldn' t start or move. The truth was, they haven' t really changed anything but claimed only. This story showed that no matter what the company says, the end result will show reality and success or failure. In summary, it all depends on a company's honesty and responsibility. If during promotion the company mentions new settings and, in reality, it didn' t happen, then it would only ruin the brand's name and shake the customer's trust. That's why brands should stay truthful and loyal to their clients.