Some people say that supermarkets and manufacturers have a responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging on products they sell. Others believe that it is the consumer’s responsibility to avoid buying products which have a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

There is no doubt that there is a global challenge for plastic waste. There are people who debate that supermarkets and manufacturers should take actions in decreasing unwanted and overuse of plastics, while others, with an opposing view, state that the initiative should come from the customers by means boycotting these stores. I believe that the solution with this issue should be address hand in hand by both parties. The store owners and producers have a huge control as to how they present their products to the public. In line with this, they have the power, money and resources to create alternatives regarding their packaging. Although the purposes of these over-usage and redundant placing of items in this non-biodegradable containers, which includes hygienic reason, attractive marketing and convenience, these big market chains can change their policies and push the consumers to use their proposed change. For example, a number of shops these days have switched to using brown paper bags or the more reliable and multiple purpose cloth bag. On the other hand, the end-users of these consumables are of great influence in changing the mindset about having an eco-friendly market. They can control the buying behaviour of the industry by taking patronage of institutions that promote lesser carbon prints. For instance, due to the high demand and popularity of people that follow a zero-waste lifestyle, there are numerous businesses that now serve refills of common toiletries, food and other necessities. However, in my perspective, this environmental concern is like a two-edged sword that can do its cutting by either side. The companies and buyers both have the responsibility to make Earth less congested with by-products of the commodities used by all. In conclusion, in my opinion, there is a bilateral and joint force between corporations and the mass in order to eliminate the utilization of harmful and hard to destroy wrappers. It is best for all and for the future generation that actions to save mother Earth from destruction start now.