"With the development of social media, more and more youngsters are being allowed unsupervised access to the Internet in order to meet friends which can cause potentially dangerous situations. What solutions do you suggest?"

Social media applications are becoming increasingly common and can be harmful to children who frequently use them without any adult supervision to interact other people online. This essay will suggest some ways to confront this issue. One main hazard from children handling of online forums to connect with their peers and strangers is that they are exposed to negative influence and cyber predators such as paedophiles. In an attempt to find solutions, parents need to teach their children and teenagers the potentially severe consequences of chatting with unknown people on the web so that they do not become victims. Furthermore, parents can periodically monitor chats and messages of their teens to ensure that they are not receiving any threats or illicit images from the people they socialize with. For example, a recent social study from the US has revealed that parents who supervise their children’s online activities are four times likely to discover hazardous activities and take necessary action than those who do not do this. Another possible solution is for social media companies to set up age limits on networking apps. For instance, Facebook recently updated its privacy policy that limits access to kids under the age of ten. Moreover, WhatsApp, a major social media app, recently announced plans to unveil its messaging app for kids. Hopefully, this would help to reduce the number of young people who are bullied online since only teenagers will use it. To conclude, young people use the internet daily to interact with various people online without any guidance and this makes them fall prey to cybercrime. In order for children to be out of harm’s way, parents should keep an eye on their communications and give them advice, and social media companies need to provide apps that are suited for them.