Many elderly people are no longer looked after by their families but are put in care homes. what are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

In most recent years, a trend has been noticed that more and more elderly people are no longer looked after by their families but are put in care homes. I believe there are both advantages and disadvantages of this trend, and I will discuss both sides in the following paragraphs and describe my opinions in the end. The advantages of sending elderly people in care homes are quite obvious. First of all, most people in today's worlds are getting busier and busier with their own lives, such as attending schools, going to work, looking after their children, or learning new life skills. There is limited time and engergy left for them to take good care of their parents or grandparents. In addition, most people nowadays choose to live separately from their parents. Looking after the parents usually means travelling back and forth, and it will become even more time consuming and inconvenient if people are living in a city or a country that is far away from their parents' home. Besides, not all people have sufficient skills and experiences to take care of elderly people, especially when there is a medical condition associated with the elderly people. Putting the elderly people into care homes will help them receive more professional and proper care and help, which usually leads to a better quality of life. However, putting elderly people in care homes will definately bring a lot of disadvantages, especially to the elderly people themselves. Firstly, not all care homes can provide the services of high quality. Lots of news and stories have revealed that many elderly people, especially the ones with disabilities or diseases, don't really get the services they need from care homes, or even have been abused by the staff in the care homes. Even though the care homes can offer professional and sufficient help to the elderly people, it doesn't mean the elderly people don't need attention and care from their families and friends. Many elderly people are suffering from loneliness and frustration in care homes because not many families and friends come to visit them in the last years of their lives. Besides the disadvantages to the elderly people, the cost of care homes could also be a huge burden for the unwealthy families. Overall, sending elderly people to care homes is probably a better choice or the only choice for some people who have little time or skills to take care of their parents. But it will also cause trouble for the elder people and their families. As far as I am concerned, people should not assume it will solve all the problems by letting the care home look after their parents. Instead, people should still visit frequently and offer help and care to their parents even though they are in care homes. The campanion and love from the families and friends will help the elderly people have a better and happier life.