In many countries paying things using mobile phone apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages?

In today’s digital world the usage of mobile apps for day-to-day transactions has increased by leaps and bounds. There are some who have greatly accepted the ease of use digital transactions offer, while others argue it not to be secure. Likewise, there are benefits and flaws associated with the usage of these apps, this essay will discuss both the viewpoints with examples. Firstly, there are millions of people around the world who own smartphones, these devices offer numerous useful applications which includes the apps for digital payments. These apps offer mobility for a user to transfer money from one device to the other with the help of the internet. Surprisingly, people have highly accepted this mode of settlement and are using it even more frequently than swiping their debit/credit cards. To Illustrate, a digital mobile payment app so-called as Paytm has offered retailers to accept the restitution just by scanning the barcode/QR Code, Instantly the payment gets transferred to the digital wallet. The main advantage of these apps is that the need to carry physical cash or card is not required. On the other hand, there are a few disadvantages to the usage of these apps, such as it may not be suitable for somebody who is not friendly with electronic gadgets or maybe out of reach for the internet. Additionally, there is a threat of financial scams or digital fraud; as there are certain apps not regulated or authorized by the government. Although, the payment is managed by the bank through their ‘secure payment gateway’ systems and it requires authentication, usually by a text message (OTP) but there are chances of fraud when an unknown individual has access to the card and the phone. For Instance, One should strictly not provide any bank login related details to any random guy over the phone or in person. To conclude, features like ease of use and fast transaction rate are a few of the numerous advantages of these apps which certainly may outweigh the disadvantages like monetary scams and frauds.