In many cities, security measures, such as the use of video cameras in public places, are being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe that these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the benefits of increased security outweigh the drawbacks?

Though security in many urban areas has been tightened in recent days to tackle criminal activities, some people opine that it is overcontrolling human's approach. Overall, the benefit of such measures outweighs the drawback, despite being restrictive in some aspects. Installing surveillance systems ensures safety. If an area is monitored by closed-circuit camera, people become aware not to do any unusual activity with the fear that they will be caught; as a result, violence is reduced. Likewise, law enforcement agencies can get clues about crimes and arrest criminals by monitoring video records. Thus, fitting camera in public places promotes safety by bringing down the rate of violence. For instance, in Bangladesh, pickpocketing has been decreased by more than 70% compared to the past after attaching monitors in crowded places. However, being monitored violates privacy. While an individual's activity is recorded and observed they may feel shy and uncomfortable to approach naturally; that means, natural human behaviour is getting restricted in front of the camera. For example, many people are being blackmailed by the recorders with threatening to let viral their personal acts. Hence, the device could be misused instead of using it for a greater purpose. Nevertheless, if the citizens are a bit more conscious about their gesture and posture and bring that in their habits, there will be no such problems. In conclusion, fitting security systems is enhanced by many cities, which is establishing risk-free life by lowering the violence rate. Notwithstanding, the outcome of security measures is advantageous, irrespective of some privacy concern.