Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic? What are the benefits and disadvantages of this?

In today's world, a vast majority of people prefer travelling to places, where conditions are challenging, for example, the Sahara desert or Antarctica. While travelling to such places will give tourists an experience of a lifetime, as they will get to explore the unexplored, but there are also drawbacks to be taken into account. On the one hand, there are a number of advantages for tourists visiting such places. Firstly, they get to experience the extreme weather conditions, which teaches them tolerance and helps to develop them both physically and mentally. For instance, as per an article in The New York Times, two- third of the youngsters who travelled to such extreme places ended up being more successful and could intake more stress level. Secondly, tourists get to explore the places which have been untouched due to lack of commercialisation. In other words, people get to experience these places and form there own judgement, as not much is known about the place or the people. Therefore, by going to such places one gets to experience it raw. On the other hand, one problem, for tourists visiting places with challenging conditions is health issues. Although there are ways to survive in places like these, it requires special skills and years of experience. To illustrate, one of the world's most renowned Scientist passed away within three weeks of his stay in Antarctica, due to pneumonia, as his body could not take the cold. Another possible issue is the survival struggle. Not only will one face issues with the overnight stay but also with commuting, which is not well developed as a result of a lack of government spending on connectivity. In conclusion, even though, the tourists can gain a lot from the experience, they will also be tested on their survival techniques. The trip can be both physically and mentally exhausting and one can end up having a serious health issue