Some people prefer the lifestyle and activities offered when living in a cold environment. Others prefer a hot environment. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people prefer the lifestyle and activities offered when living in a cold environment. Others prefer a hot environment. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Human beings and other species are affected by multiple environmental factors, such as temperature, that can impact their welfare. When it comes to environmental temperature preferences, there are two opinions/likes. One group prefers warm weather, whereas the other one would rather live in chill places. I believe humans can adapt more efficiently to cold conditions, but it depends on the social status that conditions adaptation possibilities. On the one hand, defenders of a warm climate believe the quality of life is much better than in extreme and cold sites. This is because they can enjoy activities in nature and practice, for instance, water sport. For example, citizens from cost villages or cities can go to beaches after a work-day to chill out. Moreover, they are in a good mood when the days are long, which can be explained according to the higher melatonin levels. Several studies have shown the positive relationship between sun-lights hours and warmer temperatures with melatonin levels. It is well-known the melatonin affects the mood in people. So, this could explain these preferences in tropical countries, for instance. On the other hand, some people enjoy the cold because they feel physically and mentally better. They say that in colder times they are less tired and stressed and work performance is much higher. For example, a survey carried out in Spain, where the level of welfare was evaluated, taking into account different variables, showed that the respondents lived more relaxed in colder months. Besides, according to those who prefer the cold, it is easier to adapt to cold conditions than heat. Even though I feel more comfortable and energetic living in winter or cold places, I believe the preferences depend on social class/status. In other words, people from high or middle class can quickly adapt to temperature variation. Unfortunately, sometimes, low-class people do not afford heating systems or air conditioning, thus suffering extreme weather conditions. To sum up, people prefer climates in which they feel comfortable or can enjoy their free time. Often, the preferences can vary according to social status as it will affect the ability to adapt to different temperatures.