Some companies sponsor sports as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good, while other thinks is has disadvantages to this. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

Sport has always been a popular topic and it has a large number of fans and supports. That is why companies want to embrace their reputation by sponsoring for events or teams. In my opinion, this has both merits and demerits but the positive outcomes may outweigh the negative ones. On one hand, companies may receive negative feedback putting advertisings on events because their brand identity may not be a fit. For example, if a tobacco company sponsors for competitions and its banners are displayed at the event, young viewers may think that smoking is encouraged. Furthermore, numerous sport lovers will complain because the brand might affect the event's identity because they would think that smoking is not healthy. As a result, having advertisements which are not relevant can have a downside for both the sponsor giver and the receiver. On the other hand, many companies have successfully established their connections as sport supporters. For instance, companies like CocaCola or Pepsi have always invested in football events and teams. This makes their brand identity stronger among the youngsters, who are their target customers. Nonetheless, receiving money from advertising may also help sport teams and events to be more successful as they may invest more on players. Thus this encourages them to dedicate more to the games. To conclude, while providing sponsorships for sports may have some drawbacks, it is clear that both companies and the receivers gain beneficial from them I believe that giving sponsors helps to develop the sport industry and it should be encouraged.