In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

There is a contentious argument in some nations over whether if it is worth tell to youngers that they can reach any goals in their lives if they work hard. Youngers can get motivated with the statement but there are also some aspects that this saying can be misunderstanding becoming harmful to them. The statement can help children to be optimistic about their lives. Whether parents demonstrate to their children that any goal is possible, it will bring about the idea that children will not give up reaching their objectives despite the drawbacks they may face along their childhood. For example, if they fail in an important test they might understand that they need to improve their studies in such subject next time. Another good aspect is that they will become more independent. When they are put in a difficult situation they would probably have in mind that it is possible to overcome it without any help from third parties, therefore they know that all is needed is to work hard and this will pave the way for a solution. On the contrary, it must be careful with the statement aforementioned since the pupil could adopt harsh behaviour as being selfish and too much confidence. When a child has in mind that it everything is possible because he or she just needs to work hard could lead to high confidence trigging to a selfish behaviour as the child will claim that he does not need anyone or anything to pursue his goals. As an example, we could use case which a child is put into a local soccer team which depends on the collective efforts from all players to reach good results, however, the child who is selfish would probably do not fit in the team since he believes that he does not depend on the other players. In conclusion, while children can benefit from the saying that everything is possible becoming self-motivated, it can also lead to bad behaviour.