Watching television is bad for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Television is inescapable these days; I have not come across a single household where there is no TV. But is watching TV good for children? Well, I am a strong believer that anything done in moderation is good and the same goes for children watching TV. A good reason to hold this view is that with the omnipresence of TV, it is impossible to keep children away from it. Moreover, TV provides an efficient source of learning for children if the right channels are watched. People generally are able to grasp and remember more things when they see and hear rather than read it and here is where TV is really useful. These days people have different channels focusing only on children like cartoons or more educational channels like an animal planet, discovery channel, etc. All these channels help in educating children in an effective manner. It is often seen that the children react to TV; whenever a song is being played, they start dancing. This definitely suggests that TV helps children in their development and make them active. However, TV also has some negative impacts on children. Sometimes, they squander too much time watching TV and watching the wrong channels can also have a negative influence on them. Therefore it is of utmost importance that parents keep a close eye on their children. With the advent of technology, we now have televisions with child lock system in place, which could prevent children from watching irrelevant and adult channels. Parents should tell the importance of watching news channels to develop an overall general knowledge of children. In a nutshell, Watching TV in moderation and under parents’ guidance is good for children’s entertainment and learning but it is important that parents keep a check on the channels that their children watch and the amount of time being spent on watching TV.