It seems clear that obesity in today’s society is to some extent due to the availability of fast food. Should governments place a tax on fast food to reduce the amount of fast food consumed? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

The topic of obesity has become a major debate in recent years. Some people argue that one of the main issues of obesity is fast food. And they believe that the government should place a tax to lower the amount of fast food consumed. On the one hand, it is a fact that unhealthy meals from restaurant chains could result in a high level of obesity around the world. Therefore, I believe the state must consider putting taxes on this kind of food to decrease this issue. For example, in Saudi Arabia, this method has been approached since 2017. The government increased the taxes on fast food restaurants by 15%. As a result, the percentage of purchases from these restaurant chains has been reduced. However, the government cannot control society 100%. Also, there are other factors that can lead to a high percentage of obesity. On the other hand, as I mentioned above, there are other alternatives that can be involved in obesity. And focusing on one issue will not solve the problem. The state needs to shed light on other factors. Such as genetic and psychological factors. To understand the roots that caused obesity. Moreover, raising Community awareness about what could cause obesity is crucial to eradicate the problem. In addition to provides the best health care and easy gym access to exercise. These could be effective solutions along with taxes. In conclusion, it is true that putting taxes can actually help. However, there are other alternatives we must consider to reduce obesity.