Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

There are university students who support the idea of adding extra subjects to their primary area of study, while others prefer to focus entirely on the qualifications necessary for their chosen field. Both viewpoints have benefits, each presenting its own advantages and disadvantages. The following essay will examine these two views and share my perspective. Those who advocate for learning about other subjects with their main subject believe that it provides them with a more well-rounded education. They argue that studying a variety of subjects can help develop critical thinking skills, creativity and self-development. For example, a future scientist who specializes in a certain field, with the help of additional subjects, can increase his horizons. Consequently, this will result in learning new skills and help in the process of becoming an excellent professional. On the other hand, some students believe that focusing exclusively on their main subject is more important for achieving success in their chosen career. They argue that dedicating all their time and attention to studying for a qualification allows them to become experts in their field and increases their chances of securing a job after graduation. For instance, medical students may feel that taking additional subjects could distract them from their primary goal. This particular action may result in a delay in progress towards obtaining their degree. In conclusion, the debate between focusing on one subject or choosing several depends on the goals and the possibilities of each person. For some, it will be better to study several subjects at once for their future, while for others it is enough to focus on their main ones. However, I believe that the benefits of attending additional lessons at a university are far more than being hyper-fixated on the main curriculum.