With a growing world population, one of the most pressing issues is that of feeding such a large number of people. Some people believe that GM foods offer a viable solution to this problem. To what extent do you agree? why? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

The ever-swelling population has demanded extensive research in food production and the most promising result is the invention of genetically modified foods. Some believe this type of bio-engineering can ensure food security for the growing global population. Despite some risks, I think GM foods can take up the challenge of food security. The worst problem with an increasing population is in the decline in the available resources. This is especially true in the case of available land for agriculture. The quantity of agrarian products is limited when there is a shortage in the area of agricultural land. The result is a production deficit, which may end up in poverty. The best among the solutions is bio-engineering, in which land scarcity would not be seen as a challenge. Another benefit of GM food is high yield within a short span of time, of course, this is profitable to the farmers, the distributors and finally the consumers. As the supply of these foods increases the demand for food in the market declines. The result is the availability of an essential food product at an affordable rate. I need to admit that the regular consumption of these food products can have some biochemical and immunological risks among its consumers. For example, there are medical cases reported which have altered the nephrological and hepatic functions among regular GM food consumers, however, these are negligible in number. In conclusion, though there is some health problem with the consumption of GM foods.l think to satisfy the food demand for an ever-increasing population GM foods can be seen as the best among the available alternatives.