In many societies in the world, the population is ageing rapidly and this is leading to an unsustainable increase in the cost of public healthcare. A nation’s population should pay for their healthcare provision in the future. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Public healthcare and its high costs have been a heated topic of discussion in recent years. In a world where life expectancy is increasing, some believe that health care services must be free and accessible to everyone throughout their entire lives, while others argue that people should pay for the health services they might need in the future. Considering both sides of the argument, I disagree with the second statement and I believe public resources and the advancement of technology will be enough to supply peoples health service. The main reason why healthcare should be free is that public resources should be enough to supply the demand for people with illnesses. Though some people argue that public resource is not enough, the amount of money collected through taxes by the government should be more than enough to deal with this issue. The government taxes every single taxpayer roughly 45% of their income with the promise to provide essential services to the country; however, in recent years the government seems to have been mismanaging the money collected thus creating a structural imbalance in the government balance sheet and creating the impression of lack of money. A simple example of this imbalance, is the cases of corruption bein uncovered and documented by the news. Have the government been honest with people’s money, public resources would be in order and it would be enough to provide better and more free services. Therefore, the problem of healthcare is not its high cost per se, but the mismanagement of public resources. That being said, the advancement of technology is another reason to support free and accessible healthcare services. People that believe healthcare should be paid often insist that the money is to be directed towards equipment and medication that are very high priced, but they fail to consider that in the near future those will be much cheaper due to technological advancement. The price to produce a pill or to perform a surgery will decrease at the same pace as the technology increases. For instance, it is easy to remember when, not too long ago, the cost for a thermometer or headache pill were much higher than they are today, and that is because today with the technology available is much easier to produce medical tools, equipment, and medication. Therefore, proving the fact that free healthcare is achievable. In conclusion, healthcare is a topic that diverges opinions and both sides have valid arguments. However, free healthcare is feasible when the ones in power decide to act to keep the finances in order while also investing in technology.