Some people think that a person can never understand a culture of the country unless they speak the language. Do you agree with this opinion?

It is a common belief that people with no understanding of the country's language suffer from the consequence of not knowing the culture of that country. This essay will elucidate the two major reasons, due to which, I accord this statement. Language is a major part of any culture, as it basically gets driven by the language of that particular region. People normally celebrate their cultural festivals with dances and folk songs in their mother language rather than in any foreign language. To quote an example, I spent nearly 2 years in China, and I was unable to understand the real culture of the Cantonese people, until I learned some of their languages. Understanding their language helped me communicate with them and travel into the far-flung areas of their country, to see and understand their cultural celebrations. Additionally, the language also plays an important role in identity and norms of a society. A foreign individual will never be able to mix up with residents of the country, until he gets to understand their language. A survey on tourism and ex-pats conducted by New York Times in 2014, stated that almost 93% of foreigners who are unable to communicate in English, find difficulty in roaming around and mingling with the rest of the people, in the U.S. To summarize, with the above-stated reasons, I believe that understanding the culture of any country is almost impossible, until one gets to understand and speak the lingo of that country.