It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Many people believed that children should be taught about right and wrong at an early age and a punishment is required in some cases to complete this education. I agree with this idea to some extent that some punishment is important for the betterment of the children but it can be ineffective. On the one hand, there are several reasons why parents should punish their child when they do something inappropriate. The most important reason is preventing their children from making the same mistakes. Children need to know about what they can and can not do such as disobey or not going to school. If parents ignore their mistakes, they tend to repeat it again and become disobedient. Therefore, with a proper punishment, youngsters will likely fear and always think twice before breaking applied rules. For instance, when i skipped my class at primary school, i was grounded and i had to do the household chores for a week. This not only helps me realize my mistakes, but also increases my self-discipline. On the other hand, harsh punishments can sometimes have a bad influence on children’s development. Parents and teachers should not apply any physical punishments on children such as using a rod or slapping because it could lead to mental disorders or deep depressions of the children in the long term. Moreover, punishments might pose a threat to their physical as well as mental health. For example, in my country, parents always use any kind of objects to hit their children and curse them which leaves many scars and bruises on children and they can be more stubborn. Therefore, I suggest parents should use different methods of punishment such as cutting down their children’s money or they should collaborate with teachers to come up with the best solution. In conclusion, I somewhat agree that appropriate punishment can have possible benefits for children. However, inappropriate punishment can have a negative effect on children.